On an occasion witnessed by the Chairman of Council, Dr. Solomon Muchina, Turkana University College (TUC) Management signed the Recognition Agreements with the three staff unions. They included the Universities Academic Staff Union (UASU), Kenya Universities Staff Union (KUSU), and Kenya Union of Domestic, Hotels, Educational Institutions, Hospitals, and Allied Workers (KUDHEIHA).
TUC Management was led by Ag. Principal – Prof. George Ndiema Chemining’wa, the Ag. Deputy Principal (AF&P) – Prof. George Muthaa, the Ag. Deputy Principal (ASA) – Prof. Clifford Getaru Machogu, the Ag. Registrar (Administration – Dr. Henry Ongori and the Human Resource Officer – Ms. Violet Simiyu.
Union representatives present included the UASU Secretary-General – Ms. Beatrice Kemunto Charity Obwoge Mbori, UASU Vice-Chair – Mr. Gilbert Nyakundi, and UASU Assistant Treasurer – Ms. Lucy Akinyi. KUSU Vice-Chair – Ms. Irene Maiyo, KUSU members Mr. Weysley Evayo Asava and Mr. Joe Rateng. KUDHEIHA Chair – Mr. Luka Amoit Ewoi was also present.
The signing of the recognition agreements opens a new chapter of engagement between the University and the Unions. It is anticipated that the unions and management will work closely for the shared benefits of the University College and staff. Besides, this will enable the commencement of the 2021/2025 CBA negotiations.
The Chairman of Council appreciated the Union’s officials and Management and called for a harmonious working relationship for the speedy growth of the University.