New Turkana University College Council Inaugurated 

New Turkana University College Council Inaugurated The Turkana University College (TUC) Council was inaugurated on Thursday 15th June, 2023 in a ceremony held at the Kenya School of Government, Nairobi. The inauguration followed the appointment of new Council Members by the Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Education, effective from 23rd May, 2023. The newly appointed Council Members are:

1. Dr. Salim Peter Ndemo-Council Chair

2. Jared Oyier-Independent Member

3. Carolyne Asuguru Ekuwom-Independent Member

4. Dr. Dominic Kimutai Biwott-Independent Member

5. Shadrack Kemoi Lomoywara-Independent Member

6. Dr. Nelisa Kagendo Mbaka-Independent Member

7. Prof. George N. Chemining’wa- Principal/Council Secretary

Other Members who will serve alongside the newly appointed team are:

1. Ms. Josephine Nasambu Walela - Member/Rep. PS, State Department for Higher Education and Research (SDHE&R)

2. CPA Dr. Solomon Ngahu - Member/Rep. PS, National Treasury


During the inauguration, the PS-(SDHE&R), Dr. Beatrice Inyangala was represented by Dr. David Watene, Deputy Director SDHE&R, who was the Chief Guest. In a speech delivered by Dr. Watene, the PS congratulated the new Council Members for their appointment to the critical role and urged them to work closely with the Principal while embracing teamwork, accountability and dedication to service. The PS urged the Council Members to make close reference to four crucial documents which would guide their service in their new role. These include:

i. The Universities Act of 2012, particularly part 5, section 60, 62 (with close reference to recent circular on separation of powers between the Council and Management)

ii. Mwongozo-Code of Governance of State Corporations

iii. Charter and Statutes iv. Constitution of Kenya 2010


On his part, the Chief Guest Dr. Watene called upon the Council Members to be committed to the University’s business and to always project a positive image of the institution. He also appealed to the Members to avoid conflict of interest at all costs and to strictly adhere to all relevant policies and guidelines.


The newly appointed Chairman, Dr. Salim Ndemo, expressed gratitude to the government for the appointment of the new Council members. While acknowledging the governance challenges facing Universities, he called upon Members and the Management to embrace integrity and commit to making TUC a distinctive University which resonates with the needs and values of the community. Further, the Chairman expressed the need to take cognizant of emerging issues such as artificial intelligence and to cope with the expectations of young learners as well as employers.


The Principal, Prof. George Chemining’wa, welcomed the new Council Members to TUC and congratulated them for their appointment to serve the young institution. He also expressed his commitment and that of the Management and the entire TUC staff towards supporting the new Council in discharging their oversight responsibilities. The Principal also presented a brief background of TUC which focused on the establishment of TUC, governance (Council and Management), academics, physical resources and key challenges facing TUC.


During the inauguration ceremony, Dr. Watene handed over letters of appointment to the new Council Members.


A brief side event in which the new Council received an exit report prepared by the previous Council was held at the same venue. Dr. Solomon Muchina Munyua, former Council Chairperson, handed over the exit report to the new Council Chairperson, Dr. Salim Ndemo. Mr. Felix Odimmasi and Mr. Oliver Erupe Lowoton, former Council members, were present during the handover.